“Something Brought You Here: Fate, Destiny-” “A horse”.

Yes, that is indeed a quote from my all-time favorite movie Tangled. I’m just a little obsessed with Mandy Moore. Okay, A LOT. Now, you may be wondering: “Bri, what’s this even got to do with a blog entry?” Well, hold your horses (see what I did there?) and I’ll get right to it.

IMG_20150814_005430
My attempt at a whimsical, “life is passing you by” kind of picture.

I am now in the final hours of breathing in Colorado’s fresh mountain air. In 3 hours (yes, 3!!!) I am about to embark on the journey of a lifetime. A journey that consists of having absolutely no clue of what I’m doing, some bad decisions, endless all-nighters, discovering new interests, endless possibilities of extracurriculars, new jobs and internships, finding more about myself, meeting new people, and having the greatest four years of my life. Otherwise known as COLLEGE!!!

So what is it that really brought me here? Fate? Destiny? Society’s expectations imprinted onto us since we were in kindergarten rearing us for the college path? Well, one thing’s for sure. It definitely was not a horse that brought me to this point. What brought me this far these 18 years were my family and friends supporting me each step of the way.

As cliche as this sounds (and as cliche as that sounded, too) it is true. My family has always been there to support me, encourage me, and to tell me things that I don’t necessarily want to hear but that are essential to my growth as a budding adult. So, Mom, Dad. Thank you. Thank you for feeding me, clothing me, and changing my diapers when I was little. Thank you for driving me to gymnastics and piano lessons and helping me with my algebra homework. Thank you for putting up with my teenage angst and attitude. Thank you for reminding me to eat when I was studying and for making me sleep when I needed it. Thank you for driving me everywhere and teaching me how to navigate life. Thank you for celebrating my achievements and hugging me when I failed. Thank you for the life lessons and teaching me how to cook and do the laundry. Thank you for allowing me to go off into the world and for trusting me. Thank you for everything. No words can express my gratitude and love. I will make mistakes, but always remember that I am able to grow from my missteps. I will always be your little girl.

So, whatever it was that brought you, dear reader, to this point, I hope you look at it with a thankful heart and positive outlook. I look forward to my next 4 years of college and I will be posting my Adventures as a High School Graduate.

IMG_20150814_241054332
Pro Tip: DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT wait until the night before to pack you things for college. FOR THE LOVE OF ALL YOU HOLD DEAR. DON’T DO IT. Because I did. And it was horrible.
Leave a Reply

